19 October 2021

Join CNIE for Our Next Virtual Showcase, October 19

What? Join CNIE for its first Virtual Showcase event. This two-part event features two parts, each exploring open-ness:

  1. Open Networking: An opportunity to meet other members of the field through a brief and informal discussion of a topic of mutual interest.
  2. Awards Showcase, which provides designers’ perspectives about their award-winning work (recognized in the most recent CNIE awards program). This month:

A Path to Open Pedagogy through Open Educational Resources: Educator created Open Education Resources (OER) are finally starting to get the attention they deserve as textbook alternatives. While there is a focus on the cost saving and access implications of OER, few are exploring the pedagogical possibilities offered by these tools in the classroom. Over the last few years, my students and I created, published, and then polished a Spanish OER textbook that allows students to control their learning path as they develop open content within an open learning framework. This presentation will talk about the process, the product, and the pedagogical outcomes of student created OER.

Presented by award-winner, Michael Dabrowski.

When?

Tuesday, October 19
12:00 – 1:00 pm Eastern
1:30 – 2:30 pm Newfoundland
1:00 – 2:00 pm Atlantic
11:00 am – 12:00 pm Central
10:00 am – 11:00 am Mountain
9:00 am – 10:00 am Pacific

Zoom (RSVP required to receive link)

How to RSVP: By noon Eastern Time, Monday, October 18 at this link.